Oversight of Sunray

Spiritual DirectorVenerable Dhyani

Ven. Khandro Dhyani Ywahoo is the Founder and Spiritual Director of Sunray Meditation Society. She is the 27th generation lineage holder of the ancestral Ywahoo lineage in the Tsalagi / Cherokee tradition. She is unique as a teacher, carrying three intact streams of ancient spiritual wisdom — Tsalagi as well as Nyingma and Drikung Kagyu lineages of Tibetan Buddhism.

She is the Chief of the Green Mountain Band of the Ani Yun Wi Wa. The Green Mountain Ani Yun Wi Wa band is comprised of Ven. Dhyani Ywahoo, her relatives, and other individuals who are descended from Cherokee family lines who moved to Vermont in the 1980s. The Green Mountain Ani Yun Wi Wa seek no state or federal recognition. They share their thoughts and ceremonies with people of like mind and choose to pass along the teachings that were passed by their Ywahoo ancestors.

In 1983, Ven. Dhyani Ywahoo was empowered to teach the dharma through the kindness of His Holiness Dudjom Rinpoche, Jigdral Yeshe Dorje and Ven. Khenpo Tsewang Dongyal Rinpoche. In 1986, Venerable Dhyani was empowered by the Drikung Kagyu lineage, through His Holiness the 37th Drikung Kyabgön Chetsang and Ven. Khenpo Konchog Gyaltsen Rinpoche. HH Dudjom Rinpoche bestowed the title Khandro, traditionally given to female masters, and she was given the name Pema Sangdzin Khandro.


Sunray’s governing structure is modeled after traditional Tsalagi principles regarding overseeing the community for the benefit of all. Under the Spiritual Director are two Councils.

Council of Ordained Ministers

There are several Sunray Ordained Ministers in the United States, Canada and Europe who form the Minister’s Council with the guidance of Ven. Dhyani Ywahoo. This Council is an international community who have learned and demonstrated their proficiency, understanding and abilities of the Ywahoo lineage teachings demonstrated within the Arbor or the Temple. The regional minister maintains the ceremonial cycle, ministering to local community, offering methods to transform illusion, and supporting healthy relationships. Regional ministers offer leadership to local Sunray circles.

Councils of Trustees

Sunray Meditation Society (SMS) and Sunray Peace Village Land Trust (SPVLT) Councils of Trustees oversee the administration of SMS and SPVLT.

Sunray Meditation Society Trustees:


Catherine Dyer, President
Carolanne Oller, Vice President
Rena Prendergast, Secretary
Eileen Khoo, Treasurer


Fred Beale
Dr. Aziza Bey
Dr. Olivia Cheever
Claudio Herrera
Rev. Beverly Hunter
Barbara Murphy-Warrington, Esq.
Ven. Dhyani Ywahoo, Ex Officio Trustee

Sunray Peace Village Land Trust Trustees:


Rev. Beverly Hunter, President
Andy Tobey, Vice President
Dechen Rheault, Secretary
Eileen Khoo, Treasurer
Ven. Dhyani Ywahoo, Ex Officio Trustee